PCP promotes free, responsible Press in country: Mengal

ISLAMABAD: A general meeting of Press Council of Pakistan held here Monday. Chairman Press Council of Pakistan, Dr. M Salah-ud-Din Mengal presided over the meeting.
Addressing the meeting, Chairman PCP said that Press Council of Pakistan is playing an active role to safeguard the freedom of expression and ensuring adherence to the parameters of a free and responsible press in Pakistan.
The Council constituted a 5-member Appellate Committee for hearing appeal against the decisions of Inquiry Commission on the complaints regarding violation of Code of Ethics by some newspapers. It may be mentioned here that Islamabad High Court has filed an appeal against a National Daily Newspaper, which will be taken by the Committee in its first meeting.
The Council expressed concern over the delay in issuing notification of some members of Press Council of Pakistan, which is pre-requisite for the smooth functioning of Press Council of Pakistan.
Discussing the establishment of Zonal offices of Press Council of Pakistan at Provincial level, the Council observed that a large number of Dailies and Periodicals are being published in regional languages and there is a urgent need to establish Zonal office of Press Council of Pakistan at Provincial level, as required in Press Council of Pakistan Ordinance, 2002.
The Council also discussed the budgetary allocation of Press Council of Pakistan for the year 2017-18. Terming the funds allocated to Press Council of Pakistan as insufficient to meet its actual requirement, the Council urged the Federal Government to provide additional funds to Press Council of Pakistan to meet its administrative and Professional obligations.
The members appreciated the endeavors of Chairman and role of Press Council of Pakistan in creating awareness among general public on the issues of National Importance. They also appreciated the proceedings of Inquiry Commission Islamabad.
The meeting was attended by Mujeeb-Ur-Rehman Shami, Qazi Asad Abid, Amir Mehmood, Anwar Sajidi, Muhammad Ibrahim Khan, Nasir Zaidi, Iqbal Jafri, Khurshid Tanveer, Shah Jahan Syed, Ms. Ayesha Ikram, Ms. Maria Iqbal Tarana and senior Officials of Press Council of Pakistan. - NNI