ECP conditionally allows Imran Khan to take oath as MNA as victory stayed in two and termed winner from three constituencies

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Tuesday conditionally allowed PTI chief Imran Khan to take oath as member of National Assembly as the electoral body stayed his victory notification two constituencies and declared him winner from three others.
Khan has been allowed to take oath as member NA from one of the three constituencies subject to decision of pending litigation against him over alleged violation of code of conduct.
Imran emerged victorious from all five seats he contested from – Bannu NA-35, Islamabad NA-53, Mianwali NA-95, Lahore NA-131 and Karachi NA-243 – in July 25 general elections.
The ECP has officially notified the winners on Tuesday after returned candidates submitted details of expenses in their election campaign.
Imran Khan’s notification from NA-53 Islamabad has been put on hold due to a pending case of alleged violation of secrecy of ballot as he stamped his ballot paper in front of TV cameras while casting his own vote.
His notification of victory in NA- 131 Lahore has been withheld due to order of Lahore High Court to recount the votes. The runners up on the seat, PML-N’s Khawja Saad Rafique had moved the LHC for vote recount.
The ECP has notified Khan winner on NA-35 Bannu, NA-95 Mianwali and NA-243 Karachi. However, all these three notifications are subject to decision of pending case against him in the ECP over alleged violation of code of conduct. Khan is facing violation of code of conduct case using inappropriate language during election campaign.
Similarly, the electoral body has conditionally notified former National Assembly speaker Sardar Ayaz Saddiq and former Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa chief minister Pervez Khattak winners. They are also facing charges of violation of code of conduct.
Meanwhile, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has issued notification of returned candidates in General Election 2018.
According to the notification published on ECP website on Tuesday, result in 14 National Assembly constituencies has been withheld due to different reasons, while election was postponed in two constituencies namely NA-60 Rawalpindi and NA-103 Faisalabad.
Notification of all the five constituencies from where PTI Chief Imran Khan emerged victorious has also been withheld due to cases pending with ECP over violation of code of conduct on part of him and with the Lahore High Court for recounting of votes.
Other constituencies, where notification regarding successful candidates has not been issued include NA-25 Nowshera, NA-90 and NA-91 Sargodha, NA-108 Faisalabad, NA-112 Toba Tek Singh, NA-129 Lahore, NA-140 Kasur, NA-215 Sanghar, and NA 271 Kech.
Notification regarding successful candidates nominated for reserved seats in the National Assembly will be issued on Saturday. – NNI

Leave a Reply