ECP gets four names for KP caretaker CM


ISLAMABAD: After a parliamentary committee’s failure in finalising a consensus name for the post of the caretaker chief minister of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, the ball is now in the Election Commission of Pakistan’s court to nominate the interim CM.

According to a private television channel report, the Speaker of the now-dissolved KP Assembly has forwarded four names, two each from the outgoing government and opposition, to the commission to pick one person for the caretaker CM slot.

A committee of the ECP headed by Chief Election Commissioner Justice (retd) Sardar Muhammad Raza is to decide on caretaker chief minister within two days.

A day earlier, a meeting of the parliamentary committee was held at the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa House in Islamabad, which failed to agree on one name for the position.
The meeting was attended by the PTI’s Shah Farman and Mehmmod Khan and opposition’s Malik Noor Saleem Khan and Mehmood Betani.

The opposition has given the names of businessman Manzoor Afridi and Justice (retd) Dost Mohammad Khan for the position of caretaker CM while the government mooted the names of former bureaucrats – Himayatullah Khan and Ejaz Ahmed Qureshi.

Under Article 224-A of the Constitution, the chief minister and opposition leader have to finalise a name for caretaker chief executive within three days of the dissolution of the provincial assembly and if they do not agree on a name, the matter will be referred to the parliamentary committee of the KP Assembly.

Even if the committee fails to reach a consensus in this regard, the matter is forwarded to the ECP for a final decision. NNI