ECP to make all details of election candidates public


ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday decided to make public all the details of the candidates contesting in upcoming general elections 2018.

According to the commission, the details of twenty one thousand candidates will be available on ECP website so that the nation can better decide to whom they want to vote.
On the other hand, ECP constituted appellate tribunal to hear appeals against decision announced by returning officers (ROs).

The appellate tribunal comprised 21 judges from across country whereas appeals against decision ROs’ decision can be lodged from June-20 to June-22. Appellate tribunal will hear and dispose of the appeals from June-23 to June-27.

In Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK), ECP has established as many as five tribunals whereas four out of five tribunals are single bench. Justice Syed Afsar Shah, Justice Musarrat Hilali, Justice Lal Jan Khattak, Justice Mohammad Ghazanfar, Justice Abdul Shakoor and Justice Ijaz Anwar will be presiding over the trials in the province from Peshawar, Abbottabad, Mingora, Bannu and Dera Ismail Khan.

In Punjab, Lahore tribunal comprises Justice Syed Shahbaz Ali Rizvi, Justice Faisal Zaman Khan, Justice Ali Akbar Qureshi and Justice Tariq Saleem Sheikh whereas Justice Masood Abid Naqvi will preside over the Bhawalpur bench, Justice Qazi Mohammad Amin Ahmed and Justice Mirza Viqas will be presiding over Multan bench and Justice Ibadur Rehman will hear cases in Rawalpindi.

Two tribunals will be set up in Sindh and one in Balochistan respectively. – NNI