Parliamentary parties nominate Mir Quddus Bizenjo as new Chief Minister Balochistan

Parliamentary parties nominate Mir Quddus Bizenjo as new Chief Minister Balochistan

Monitoring Desk

ISLAMABAD: Parliamentary parties in Balochistan Assembly announced on Thursday their consensus on Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo’s as the next chief minister, days after Nawab Sanaullah Zehri resigned in the wake of a no-trust move against him.
“I hope I will come up to the expectations of the parties who have expressed their confidence in me,” Bizenjo said while addressing a news conference while flanked by other political leaders.
Bizenjo withdrew his no-confidence motion on Tuesday, moments after Zehri stepped down from the post.
The PML-N-led coalition government in Balochistan faced a serious crisis after its several lawmakers joined hands with the opposition parties for tabling a no-confidence motion against Zehri.
I hope I will come up to the expectations of the parties who have expressed their confidence in me,” Bizenjo, the central PML-N leadership had formed a three-member committee comprising Leader of the House in Senate Raja Zafarul Haq, Interior Minister Ahsan Iqbal and Railways Minister Khawaja Saad Rafiq.
The committee members had been instructed to redress the grievances of the defectors and bring them back to the party fold. However, the detractors were not ready to hold talks with anyone and alleged that the top party leaders had ignored them throughout the assembly tenure.
Agencies add: As the discussions within political circles to find Nawaz Sanaullah Zehri’s replacement has picked up, the governor of Balochistan has summoned an assembly session for January 13 to elect a new chief minister for the provincial cabinet.
After a no-trust motion against him, Zehri had resigned from his position and submitted resignation to Balochistan Governor Muhammad Khan Achakzai on Tuesdayafternoon, who forthwith accepted it.
Following the resignation of the chief minister, the Balochistan government issued a notification which read: “Consequent upon the resignation of the Chief Minister Balochistan, the provincial ministers and advisers to the chief minister shall also cease to hold their office with immediate effect.”
With the opposition out of the process, the disgruntled group within the PML-N is set to nominate a new leader of the house.
Former provincial home minister Sarfaraz Bugti associated with the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Muhammad Saleh Bhootani are being considered top contenders for the coveted slot of the leader of the house in the provincial assembly.
The names of Jan Muhammad Jamali, Changez Marri and former chief minister Abdul Malik Baloch are also under discussion for the post.
Sarfaraz Bugti was one of the dissidents who revolted against Zehri and backed the no-confidence motion moved by the opposition.
Speaking to the media a day earlier, Bugti said the next chief minister of Balochistan will be selected after consultation with political allies, and might not necessarily belong to his party.
The major opposition parties of Balochistan have announced to distance themselves from the new provincial government set-up after Nawab Sanaullah Zehri’s resignation as chief minister of the province.
Addressing a crowded press conference alongside BNP-M’s Akhtar Jan Mengal and BNP-A’s Ehsan Shah on Wednesday, leader of the opposition in Balochistan Assembly Maulana Wasey said the opposition parties would not be part of the new government set-up.
However, he said the opposition would support any candidate for the Chief Minister portfolio named by the disgruntled PML-N legislators.
“We will vote in support of the PML-N dissidents’ proposed candidate,” Wasey said.
On the occasion, PML-Q MPA and former deputy speaker Abdul Quddus Bizenjo, and PML-N dissidents Jan Mohammad Jamali and Sardar Saleh Bhootani were also present.
Balochistan National Party-Mengal (BNP-M) chief Sardar Akhtar Jan Mengal said his party has been making efforts to uphold democratic norms and would continue to do so in the future.
Akhtar-led BNP-M has two MPAs in the assembly who previously supported the no-confidence motion against Zehri.


Leave a Reply