PTI rebel Gulalai loses all four NA seats

ISLAMABAD: Ayesha Gulalai, who deserted the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) after accusing its chief Imran Khan of sexual harassment, lost election in all four National Assembly constituencies.
She could secure only 3538 votes in all the constituencies she contested for.
She contested the election from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (NA-25), Punjab (NA-161), Islamabad (NA-53) and Sindh (NA-231), but couldn’t win a single seat.
She faced off PTI heavyweight and former Khyber Pakhtunkhwa chief minister Pervaiz Khattak in NA-25 Nowshera-1 but was defeated. Khattak secured 82,115 votes while Gulalai couldn’t surge past the mark of 1000 votes.
In NA-53, she contested the election against former premier Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and the PTI Chairman Imran Khan but could secure only 138 votes. Mr. Khan won this seat by bagging 92891 votes.
Ms Gulalai bagged only 827 votes in National Assembly constituency NA-231, Sujawal. While she secured 1614 votes from NA-161 Lodhran constituency, which was won by PTI’s Mian Muhammad Shafiq.
Last year, the former PTI leader shot to prominence after she announced to left the party in spectacular fashion and accused the PTI chief of misogyny and sending her inappropriate text messages.
She also alleged that women were not respected in the PTI and she had quit over differences with the party leadership. All charges have been dismissed by the party.
Gulalai was sent a show cause notice after the press conference to explain her actions but she failed to respond. The party sent a final notice to Ayesha Gulalai, a copy of which was also sent to the ECP and Speaker National Assembly. – NNI

Leave a Reply