Closure of schools in 25 Punjab dists amid Pandemic announced

LAHORE: The government of Punjab has notified closure of schools in 25 districts of the province witnessing over five percent Covid positivity rate, following a decision of the National Command and Operation Centre (NCOC).
Sharing a notification on his Twitter account, Punjab Education Minister Murad Raas said that all public and private schools will be closed immediately in the districts stated in the notification till further notice.
The districts mentioned in the notification included Lahore, Bahawalnagar, Bahawalpur, Bhakkar, Chakwal, Dera Ghazi Khan, Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Hafizabad, Jhang,Kasur, Khanewal, Khushab, Lodhran, Mandi Bahauddin, Multan, Okara, Pakpattan, Rahimyar Khan, Rawalpindi, Sahiwal, Sargodha, Sheikhupura, Sialkot, Toba Tek Singh.
He further clarified that classes for grades 9, 10, 11 and 12 will also be closed in these districts, which resumed from March 26, 2021. The minister further shared that the schools will remain open with the previous schedule in 11 other districts of the province.
On Friday while sharing the fresh restrictions approved by the NCC meeting headed by Prime Minister Imran Khan, Federal Minister for Planning and Development and Head of the NCOC, Asad Umar said that all schools in areas witnessing a positivity rate of five percent will remain shut.
Two days back, the Punjab government had announced to shut schools in major cities of the province where COVID positivity ratio has gone beyond six percent. – TLTP

Leave a Reply