Nasser Magoon elected FPCCI president, vows all steps to protect economy from corona effects

Imran Zakir

KARACHI: Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce and Industries (FPCCI) newly elected President Naseer Hayat Magoon has thanked the business community for their success and said that the business community has shown full confidence on Businessmen Panel leadership Once again in FPCCI Elections 2021.
He said that the business activities and industries will not be stopped due COVID-19 effects and will take all possible measures to protect the national economy from its negative effects of its waves at the micro and macro level, while briefing to members of FPCCI, Women entrepreneurs, traders, industrialists including FPCCI Vice President Sultan Rehman, Khurram Tariq Saeed, Haji Ghulam Ali, Sultan Chawla, Amjad Rafi, Juma Khan, Mirza Abdul Rehman and newly elected FPCCI body.
On the occasion the newly elected President Naseer Hayat Magoon further said that the services of Federation for Chambers and Associations would be continued under the leadership of Chairman BMP and our former President FPCCI Mian Anjum Nisar and in consultation with Chairman Progressive Business Group (PBG) Haji Juma Khan, Secretary General, BMP Haji Ghulam Ali. While all the leaders of BMP pledge to free the Federation House from all form of corrupt practices and ensure the transparent mechanism without any discrimination.
TLTP adds: Mian Nasser Hyatt Magoo has clinched the top slot of the Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FPCCI) in the annual elections 2021.
Both the presidential candidates got 178 votes each and it was a tie; however, the election commission of the FPCCI reconsidered its decisions and took into account the intention of the voters, and by virtue of intention of voters, the commission declared Mian Nasser Hyatt Magoo as president-elect FPCCI.
The Businessmen Panel (BMP), which is being led by its Chairman Main Anjum Nisar, got succeeded its candidate Khawaja Shahzeb Akram on Senior Vice President’s seat with 196 votes against 161 votes of his opponent Abdul Rauf Mukhtar from United Businessmen Group (UBG) headed by S.M Muneer and Iftikhar Ali Malik as patron-in-chief and chairman respectively.
BMP, which was the ruling group in FPCCI for the year 2020 too, also won six positions of vice presidents and UBG got four VPs for 2021 year.
Similarly, both vice president candidates from the capital area also tied up by getting four votes each.
Meanwhile, BMP’s two VPs one from Balochistan quota were already declared elected unopposed. They were Nasir Khan on the chambers’ seat and Farzana Ahmed Ali on the women’s chamber seat. UBG’s Adeel Siddique was also elected unopposed from Sindh Chambers Class.
The FPCCI is the apex trade body; having all chambers of commerce and trade associations representing different economic sectors from over the country as its members. The 187 trade bodies participated in FPCCI Elections on December 30th through their Executive Committee and General Body members.

Leave a Reply slot slot pulsa slot slot online