Wednesday, July 24, 2024

Top 5 This Week

Related Posts

Rohit Sharma to Captain India in Champions Trophy and WTC

India’s T20 World Cup 2024-winning captain, Rohit Sharma, famously known as the “Hitman” for his formidable cricketing skills, has been confirmed as the captain for the upcoming Champions Trophy 2025 and the 2023-25 World Test Championship (WTC). This announcement was made by the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s (BCCI) Secretary, Jay Shah.

In a video message shared by the BCCI, Shah expressed his confidence in Rohit’s leadership:

“I am confident that under the captaincy of Rohit, we will win the WTC Final and the Champions Trophy.”

Recent Achievements:

  • T20 World Cup 2024: Under Rohit’s leadership, India ended an 11-year ICC trophy drought by defeating South Africa in the final.
  • Captaincy Tenure: Rohit took over the captaincy from Virat Kohli in 2021 and led the team to the WTC 2021-23 final and the ODI World Cup 2023 final, where they finished as runners-up on both occasions.

Jay Shah also dedicated India’s recent T20 World Cup win to former head coach Rahul Dravid, whose last match was the final, and to Rohit, Virat Kohli, and Ravindra Jadeja, who have retired from T20Is.

Shah’s Remarks:

“Many congratulations to Team India for this historic victory […] this was our third final in the last year. In June 2023, we lost in the final of the World Test Championship. After ten wins in November 2023, we won hearts but couldn’t win the cup,” Shah noted.

“I had said in Rajkot that in June 2024, we will win hearts, win the cup, and hoist the flag of India, and our captain did just that. The last five overs had a huge contribution to this victory.”


Shah also acknowledged key players like Suryakumar Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Arshdeep Singh, and Hardik Pandya for their significant contributions.

Looking ahead, Shah expressed optimism about India’s future under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy:

“After this victory, the next stage is the WTC final and the Champions Trophy. I am confident that we will become champions in both these tournaments under the captaincy of Rohit.”

With Rohit Sharma at the helm, the Indian cricket team aims to continue its winning momentum and secure more titles in the coming years.


To Keep Updated Visit & Follow our Facebook Page Or Our Website

Popular Articles