NAPA presents poetry & writings of great Urdu poet Mirza Ghalib

KARACHI: President Dr. Arif Alvi has emphasized the formative role of the creative and performing arts, culture and literature in reflecting the rich heritage of the Pakistani nation and in fostering a dynamic national identity, says a Press release.
He was speaking at the conclusion of a presentation on the poetry and writings of the great Urdu poet Mirza Asadullah Khan Ghalib held at the National Academy of Performing Arts (NAPA), Karachi, Tuesday evening.
President Arif Alvi called for NAPA to set up similar centres of excellence across Pakistan so that the people at large could have convenient access to the enormous wealth of the country’s civilizational heritage which began over 5000 years ago and is marked by contemporary diversity in the 21st century.
The President of Pakistan was welcomed by Syed Jawaid Iqbal, Chairman, NAPA Board of Directors, Zia Mohyeddin, President Emeritus, Senator (r) Javed Jabbar, Honorary Acting President and CEO, Members of the Board including Tariq Kirmani, Shahrukh Hassan, Mahtab Rashdi, Anwar Rammal, Satish Anand and Fauzia Naqvi.
Due to Covid-19 conditions, attendance at the event was restricted to NAPA staff and students.
President Arif Alvi expressed high praise for the impeccable rendering of some of Ghalib’s memorable poetry and writings by Zia Mohyeddin, President Emeritus of NAPA. Dressed immaculately in a black sherwani, Zia Mohyeddin’s narration vividly evoked glimpses from the unique life and times of the legendary poet.
A group of NAPA alumni comprising both young women and men led by the Head of the Music Faculty Ustad Nafees Ahmed on the sitar presented five ghazals written by Ghalib with impressive talent, skill and sensitivity. The music was composed by Arshad Mahmud. The programme was conducted by the Head of the Drama Faculty, Khalid Ahmed.
The First Lady Mrs. Samina Alvi and members of the President’s family and entourage also attended and warmly applauded the presentation.
The 10-Member ensemble comprised: Mehboob Ashraf, Yusuf Bashir, Sara Waqar, AmoonDaas, Liza, Cynthia, Obaid, Nigel Bobby, Simal Nafees and Sabeen Nawab Khan.

Leave a Reply